Playing with the Understand – Make – Invent hierarchy in the previous blog entry where I was coming up with example web literacy skills, I ran into a problem.

It seems like “understand” can run pretty deep, even deeper than the beginning tasks in “make”.  For example, understanding man in the middle attacks.  (No, I don’t think this is a core web literacy skill, though I wish I lived in a universe where it could be.)  Understanding man in the middle attacks is clearly more “advanced” than “learn how to use anchor html tags”.  That’s fine.

But it feels like “make” is a strict pre-requisite to “invent”.  Which makes me wonder if we need the two categories at all, or if some of them are just tagged more advanced than the other?  Poking Mark Surman to see what he has to say.  Mark? :)

