Oh good.  Another space on the internet for someone with a penchant for rambling to indulge us all with her thoughts of the day.

I figured that a good opening blog entry to this new space would be for me to explain what I intend to use this blog for, or, more specifically, what I don’t plan on using it for.

This is going to be my working log — a place to collect the latest thoughts that I have about creating a web literate planet.

It’s definitely not going to be a refined showcase of carefully selected words and concepts, nor will it be a good snapshot of “head” — that is to say, if you’re looking for a quick summary on the latest thoughts on web literacy, this won’t be the place to find it because you’d have to go backwards through every post thus far to get a good picture of it.  Instead, I’ll (soon, not yet) create a set of wiki pages that have the most recent summary of everything for that purpose.

The first handful of posts are going to be my attempt to jot down thoughts I’ve already had on this topic, so that if I get hit by a bus, they’re at least recorded somewhere.  And then going forward, I’ll probably put summaries of discussions I have with various folks, thoughts of the day, experiences, etc.

In short, this is a blog mostly for me.  But (and this is a very large but), if you are here and reading this (hello!), I of course welcome any feedback you might have about my  half-formed thoughts.  Creating a world of web literate citizens isn’t going to happen by one person thinking on a blog, no matter how many cups of coffee I drink.  One of the advantages to posting these things on a blog, rather than in my little quad-ruled notebook I picked up from Staples, is that I have the opportunity to be told when I’m going totally off course, or trail-blazing on a path already well-mapped, or missing something obvious in front of me.

Ready to go?  Okay, pack a snack because this is gonna be a long journey, but I’m sure we’ll find plenty of food, fun and friends along the way.